What could go wrong?

What could go wrong?

by Paul Beaufait -
Number of replies: 13
It is a pleasure to see so many familiar names and faces spinning intro's, inquiries, and ideas together again at SCoPE.

I'm slowly catching up with the ongoing discussions from here in Japan, a day ahead and eight hours behind SFU (Vancouver), while my head and body are still trying to sleep on Pacific Daylight or Mountain Standard Time yesterday.

I'm an associate professor teaching English as an additional language to undergraduate administrative studies majors. Alhough you may consider me a techno-cynic, I'm also boot-strapping professional development activities using low-investment technologies with secondary school language teaching associates and university teaching colleagues.

I have never created a podcast, and wonder who has the time to plan, script, produce, contextualize, find, retrieve, listen to, (re-)view, annotate, transcribe, index, analyze, (re-)organize, synthesize, evaluate, or otherwise utilize podcasts for formative purposes. That is, I wonder, is there really such a thing as a bear in a can?
In reply to Paul Beaufait

Re: Picking up good in E. Pacific Standard Time

by Richard Smith -
Bear in a can? I am missing the reference.... but your concerns about the time it takes are well-founded, I think.

I am going to move this message and make it into the start of a new thread on the dangers/weaknesses of podcasting. This is clearly a topic with "legs".

...r
In reply to Richard Smith

Re: Picking up good... [became "What could go wrong?"]

by Paul Beaufait -
A not so early arrival to this seminar posts a time- and sleep-challenged intro., and the subject of discussion abruptly changes to "What could go wrong?" One thing, it seems, may be failure to explain a reference before dashing off to attend to matters in another possibly live venue.