Introductions

Introductions

by Richard Smith -
Number of replies: 34
I suppose the best way to start an online discussion is with some introductions. In this case, who are you and what is your experience (if any) with podcasting?

I will go first:

My name is Richard Smith and I am a professor at SFU. I teach in the school of communication and I have been podcasting for about a year and a half.

My experience in educational podcasting has been in my second year course on information technology and society. I do an "enhanced podcast," which means I can be heard and my powerpoint (keynote) slides are "flipping" in the iTunes/iPod screen.

I look forward to hearing your introductions and once we've done that I'd like to move through three additional questions, which we'll put into separate discussion topics (I'll create these in the coming days):

1. What do you think is possible with podcasting in an educational context?

2. What do you think is desireable with podcasting in an educational context?

3. What to you worry about when you think about podcasting?

Anyway, let's hear from you!

...r
In reply to Richard Smith

Re: Introductions

by Maggie Verster -

Hi Richard,

My name is Maggie and I am an educational consultant working with maths teachers in the rural areas and townships in South Africa . I am doing my masters this year in computer based education and am currently trying to create an online community of practice for maths literacy teachers. I also run a community maths website.

Podcasting is not used in my country at all. If you mention it people go ...hhhhuh? I am still struggling to get everybody to use computers, let alone the internet. So I am investigating podcasting as a means to reach more teachers in a more effortless way. Most of my teachers have cellphones. So this discussion is indeed important to me and I am glad to be here.

Maggie

by Brian Cann -