MicroSCoPE - A closer look at what's happening in SCoPE

MicroSCoPE: October 2006 Issue

 
 
 
photo of me taken by a short person :-)
MicroSCoPE: October 2006 Issue
by Sylvia Currie - Sunday, 1 October 2006, 11:04 PM
 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
MicroSCoPE: A Close Look at What's Happening in the SCoPE Community
October, 2006
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In This Issue
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
1. Mark Your Calendars
2. Activity Recap
3. SCoPE SIG: Welcome UCIPD Members!
4. About SCoPE
5. About MicroSCoPE

1. Mark Your Calendars
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
* Camp Podcast
Be a virtual participant in Camp Podcast! Sandy Hirtz of BCcampus eLearning Marketplace and Expo community initiated a collaborative podcasting event combining Vancouver-based workshops with online activities, and bridging several educator communities. On Monday, October 2, 2006 we can enjoy a full day of online events related to the practical, technical, and educational aspects of podcasting, followed by a SCoPE seminar discussion on the educational value of podcasting October 4 - 22.

* Keynote with Dan Balzer and Susan Manning, 8:45 (PDT), 15:45 (GMT)
* Skypecasting: A Robust Open Source Web Collaboration Tool, 11:00 (PDT), 18:00 (GMT)
* Content 2.0: Getting It Off The Page, 13:00 (PDT), 20:00 (GMT)
* Podcasting Into the Future and Beyond 15:00 (PDT), 22:00 (GMT)
...for details and access go to http://community.bccampus.ca/expo

* Seminar: The Educational Value of Podcasting
Facilitator: Richard Smith
October 4 - 22, 2006
We're hearing a lot about how to create podcasts, how to subscribe to podcasts, and how convenient it is for students to have access to podcasts. But what are the educational value and implications of introducing podcasts into the curriculum? Let's go beyond the "how-tos" of making a portable lecture and investigate effective pedagogical applications.
...access the seminar directly http://scope.lidc.sfu.ca/mod/forum/view.php?id=344

* BCcampus Collaborative Book Project Meeting
Wednesday, October 2006 9:00 AM (PDT), 16:00 (GMT)
Join this session to hear chapter mayors share experiences, preview the manuscript, discuss publishing plans and simply to celebrate and congratulate our collaborative efforts.
...access the meeting directly https://sas.elluminate.com/m.jnlp?password=M.6EC479248FEB0F6278E085A8EF0A67

* Check the SCoPE calendar for a full list of online events that will be of interest to members.
...more http://scope.lidc.sfu.ca/calendar/view.php?view=upcoming

2. Activity Recap
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
* September 15, 2006 Janet Salmons presented her dissertation research, Learning to Collaborate: The Taxonomy of Collaborative E-Learning, followed by an asynchronous discussion organized as part of the "dissertation fest" through CPSquare.org. Visit Janet's profile for access to her website and to view resources related her work on collaborative learning:
http://scope.lidc.sfu.ca/user/view.php?id=374

* During the summer months at Simon Fraser University members of the Learning and Instructional Design Centre were busy moving their offices and equipment to the new Surrey campus. The SCoPE site was unavailable at times during this period. We're glad to be back to normal!

3. SCoPE SIG: Welcome UCIPD Members!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Welcome all members of the University/College/Institute Professional Development group (UCIPD) of British Columbia! We invite you to introduce yourself and your institution’s commitment to teaching and learning by posting a message to: http://scope.lidc.sfu.ca/mod/forum/view.php?f=90

UCIPD is a loosely knit community of professionals who are involved in educational development in British Columbia. Contact Liz Wallace for information and access: ewallace@sfu.ca.
...UCIPD SIG members may access the SIG directly http://scope.lidc.sfu.ca/course/view.php?id=22

4. About SCoPE
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
SCoPE, supported by the Learning and Instructional Development Centre at Simon Fraser University, brings together individuals who share an interest in education research and practice, and offers opportunities for dialogue across disciplines, geographical borders, professions, levels of expertise, and education sectors. We organize seminars, events, and ways for practitioners to connect. Membership is free and open to everyone.

Self-register at http://scope.lidc.sfu.ca

5. About MicroSCoPE
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
SCoPE members receive MicroSCoPE issues automatically. If you prefer to read MicroSCoPE on the website or via RSS, manage your subscription here:
http://scope.lidc.sfu.ca/mod/forum/view.php?f=5

MicroSCoPE is prepared by Sylvia Currie, Community Coordinator (scurrie@sfu.ca).

Please spread the word about SCoPE. Distribute this newsletter!