Posts made by Janna van Kessel

Thanks for your feedback, Leonne.

And, rookie mistake, sorry! The tool I used was Google draw. I starting using it a couple of weeks ago, but it seems very easy to add different shapes with text to create simple flowcharts or other visuals. And I appreciate being able to save as a jpeg.

cheers, Janna

Hi everyone,

My apologies for being a pretty silent learner in this micro-course as work spills over into evenings and weekends and as family spills over into the remain pockets of time and space.

I am new to online teaching/facilitation, but in thinking of my online experiences as a learner and my face-to-face teaching, here are a few ideas that I am mulling over.

- video introductions/activities (e.g., flip grid): I just participated in an activity in the FLO Fundamentals course and felt a great sense of connection with other learners after viewing their videos /replies.

- for online synchronous courses (or asynchronous courses with scheduled times), I see video-chat options to share, connect, and check-in during 'real-time' as valuable tool. In f2f classes, I like to create opportunities to hear from everyone in the room about themselves and a current topic or some aspect related to their daily life (not related to course content).

- Perhaps using Twitter, Facebook or other options for regular and informal engagement or connection as a community or for regular feedback to the facilitator (akin to Leonne's weekly check ins)?

Alas my other communities are using a more demanding voice, so I continue to ponder.

warm wishes,

Janna

Hi,

Leonne, I appreciate your checklist as a self-evaluation tool as well as a way for instructors/facilitators to gauge the need for support. I wonder if it would be helpful for learners to also see an invitation to ask questions or list any supports that they need in the comments section? I am new to online instruction, so am looking for ideas on how to support students in a proactive manner!