Posts made by Susan Glynn-Morris

Hi Bettina

I really like your idea of having students think about their purpose for being in the course right off the bat. I think 9 Whys is a great LS for doing this. Your suggestion to have a template with the 9 whys might be a good way to make sure they go all the way. On that, does it ever happen that people reach a conclusion (or some sort of end point) before the 9th why?

Something I often struggle with on online courses is having multiple short deadlines in a week. A lot of our students are studying part time while working and juggling other responsibilities and so may have limited flexibility in their schedules to check in on a course each week. While I love how this format can help take an activity further and support interaction, I worry about how multiple weekly deadlines (that might vary from week to week) can be a big commitment and a lot to remember. As a new instructional designer I am curious if instructors you have supported have had success with this format?

Your instructions are clear to me but I wonder if a student who is not familiar with this activity might not understand that they are asking why of their response to the previous why (as opposed to just asking why again) - maybe I am over complicating this. Similarly, if someone has not heard of a 6-word story before it might be helpful to provide an one sentence explanation or an example. 

I love the idea of making flipgrid an option for students who want to present orally. I also think it is a great way for students to get to know one another. I wonder how many students would opt to make a video over a written post?     

It has been helpful for me to see both your and Nancy's activities putting LS in action (and thinking about the logistics of doing so online!). Thank you both. Sue 

Hi Nancy