Introductions

Introductions

by Dr. Nellie Deutsch -
Number of replies: 62
Hi and welcome to e-learning and developing countries. My name is Nellie Deutsch and I am an international doctoral student of education at the University of Phoenix online. I not only learn online, I also apply blended learning in all of my EFL high school classes via Moodle. Although I am sold on e-learning, I am very concerned about the many students who do not have the  connectivity and infrastructure to enjoy the benefits of elearning.

Please introduce yourself.

In reply to Dr. Nellie Deutsch

Re: Introductions

by Christine Sinclair -
Hi - I'm Christine Sinclair, a lecturer in academic practice at the University of Strathclyde in Glasgow.  I'm also an e-learning student doing a Masters in e-learning with the University of Edinburgh, currently studying a module on e-learning, politics and society so this topic is very relevant to us.  In my reading for my current course I'm becoming very conscious of the concerns that Nellie mentions and also about the need for ensuring that e-learning courses really appropriately meet the needs of students wherever they are.

My fellow students (from all over the world) will be interested in the SCoPE discussions too.  I'll let them know about it.
In reply to Christine Sinclair

by Dr. Nellie Deutsch -
Hi Christine, good to have you here.

I understand there are international students in the online MA program you are involved in. What kinds of problems do they encounter?

by Christine Sinclair -
On the MSc course I'm studying, there are students based all over the world, mostly educational practitioners like myself.  They include people from other countries who have been attracted to the course in Edinburgh, and also people from the UK whose work has taken them to other countries.