Networking: the new literacy?

Networking: the new literacy?

by Cindy Underhill -
Number of replies: 6
In his excellent article Footprints in the Digital Age, Will Richardson makes this point about social networking and content creation on the web: "This may be the first large technological shift in history that's being driven by children." That's an interesting thought - and a bit scary for us as well as (I suspect) for them. This supports some recent survey data that we collected from 68 grade 9 students in that virtually none of them reported to have been taught how to use the web from teachers or parents. Most reported they were self taught, some reported they were taught by siblings or friends.

What does that mean to us as mentors, parents, educators? Richardson suggests we must walk the talk and "own these technologies and be able to take advantage of these networked learning spaces" ourselves.

It sounds like many of us (participating in this forum) are integrating these approaches into our practices - what's the next step?
In reply to Cindy Underhill

Re: Networking: the new literacy?

by Harriette Spiegel -
Up to now, I have lurked on this list, but am interested in the topics. I reacted to the "...being driven by children" with the thoughts: indeed, and what are we going to do about it. Back when cell phones were catching on , I sat in an airport waiting area listening (hard not to) to a young woman broadcasting names, facts, issues about apparently her client, and it was obvious she was a lawyer. I was appalled and wanted to ask her - are you trying to get fired? I have also overheard cell phoners giving out a computer password on the phone, in plain earshot of anyone (such as I did) going by.