Introductions

Introductions

by Deirdre Bonnycastle -
Number of replies: 70
Please take a few minutes to tell us where you are from and what your interest is in Active Learning.
In reply to Deirdre Bonnycastle

Deirdre Bonnycastle

by Deirdre Bonnycastle -

I am Deirdre Bonnycastle and I currently work as a faculty developer for the College of Medicine, University of Saskatchewan. Before that I worked as an online instructional developer for both the university and our technical institute (over 50 courses). I have been an active teacher for 35 years; initially because I was very shy and hated being the centre of attention and later because my students learned better when they were active participants in their learning.

My interest in Active Learning as a theory has been reinforced by my experience in the College of Medicine where students are expected to memorize vast amounts of information, but sometimes have very little experience with deeper learning. Medical Education is undergoing a radical transformation because of increasing medical complexity, expectations of interprofessional teamwork and resource shortages.

I've attached an image of the University Bridge with an image of the Saskatoon skyline for people who are interested.

Attachment river.jpg

Re: Deirdre Bonnycastle

by Emma Duke-Williams -
I'm Emma Duke-Williams from Portsmouth, in the UK. I've been a teacher, and am now a lecturer in the School of computing - but not for nearly as long as Deidre! My main interest now is Computing to support teaching & learning; whether that's how students can personally manage their learning, or teaching modules on Educational Software design.

I'm also not really sure what "active learning" is, though I'm sure I'm going to learn.