Will Open Source Be a Cheaper and/or Better Solution?

Prioritizing features (Re: Will Open Source Be a Cheaper and/or Better Solution?

by Corrie Bergeron -
Number of replies: 0

I agree with Frances - it's both/and.  But there may be an issue with ones definition of "educational flexibility."  Most educational programs are course-centric.  They have been for decades, and will likely remain so for a long time to come.  Within that overall context, both COTS and OSS systems provide a great deal of pedagogical flexibility.  I've been using Blackboard for close to seven years, and there's very little that it structurally prevents me from doing.

However, many "forward-thinking" educators view the course model itself as outdated and restrictive.  They argue that it encourages silo thinking rather than holistic understanding, and so forth.  So to that group of users, a course-centric system may be automatically viewed as lacking flexibility because it assumes that students are enrolled in courses.

Alice MacGillivray raised a related point in a recent discussion on SMEs.  She's asked me to reference it here, since she seems to be unable to post in this thread.  http://scope.lidc.sfu.ca/mod/forum/discuss.php?d=61  The gist of her question is: 

It seems to me that the intent of any course shapes the -- dare I say ontology and epistemologies -- behind the course.  However, other courses I have designed/taught are about facts and best practices and are structured and assessed very differently.  How do we manage the tension behind a drive for consistency in everything from structure to look-and-feel with the inherent differences in the nature of knowledge and ways of knowing in different fields?