Passion and burnout

Passion and burnout

by Andrew Marchand -
Number of replies: 4
What is the balance point to the amount of passion and energy you commit to the teaching process and the possibility of burnout?
In reply to Andrew Marchand

Re: Passion and burnout

by Deirdre Bonnycastle -
I've been teaching for 37 years and still experience fatigue after some of my less successful sessions, but then I experience one of those sessions where my students are as energetic and excited as I am. So that's the balance point for me - when my students are as actively involved in learning as I am in teaching.

optical_illusion_teach_learn.jpg

by Christine Horgan -

Andrew:

What a great question.....unfortunately, not a question with a quick, simple, or easy answer.

I no longer teach in the regular classroom (I do, however, co-facilitate ISW workshops), and so I can only think about the question from the viewpoint of my current work.

There is a balance point, and I have no idea what it is.

I think the balance point changes not only with each person but with the combination of players of a given project and also as a result of the project itself.

Passion and energy commitment may well connect to the number of real or perceived obstacles in the way, the reception of one's ideas and work by colleagues, the willingness of one's institution to follow a particular path.

Burnout (whether or not one is a teacher) remains a very real possibility.

by Sylvia Riessner -
My students deserve the best I have to give them and that demands I put energy and enthusiasm into my teaching.

But it can be hard to maintain the passion when you encounter groups or individuals who don't want to engage, learn, participate.

I don't teach full-time and I get opportunities to engage in project-based learning development. I find the variety helps me stay balanced and ensures that I go into teaching sessions with enthusiasm (most days that is ;-)

by neil SMITH -