The Learning and Instructional Development Centre

The Learning and Instructional Development Centre

by Amy Severson -
Number of replies: 3
The Learning and Instructional Development Centre (LIDC) is a large department at Simon Fraser University. I try and joke sometimes that we are paid by the syllable, which is why it is such a long name.

It has grown, both in size and scope over the last five or six years, and continues to redefine it's position with the university. These changes make it challenging to write a any summary of our structure and my position within the Centre.

I am an instructional designer in our department, and rely on the many talents of my colleagues to support what I do, and what I attempt to do.

One of my responsibilities is the support of learning technologies at Simon Fraser University. SFU licenses WebCT Vista (a Learning Management System - now properly called Blackboard Vista, I think) and Elluminate (an online synchronous communications or conferencing platform). I work heavily with both these products, working with faculty and other staff to integrate sound instructional principles in the daily use of these platforms. The use of these platforms is voluntary, and we provide general advice on their use and implementation in the blended or hybrid classroom. There is a separate department on campus, CODE (the Centre for Online and Distance Education) that provides the heavier lifting for scheduled and entirely online or distance courses. We are also exploring the use of Wikis to support collaborative work in the face to face classroom.

Our department offers general workshops, Instructional Skills Workshops, a Certificate in Web-based Instruction, a Certificate Program in Teaching and Learning for Graduate Students and  a reader group, a symposium each year, and two Teaching Assistant days each year.

We have an award winning media department, who design websites, learning objects and visual presentations for faculty and departments.