Welcome to our May seminar!

Re: Welcome to our May seminar!

by Jo Ann Hammond-Meiers -
Number of replies: 3

I am Jo Ann Hammond-Meiers, R. Psych. (AB) in private practice and working contracts in teaching/educational development

What is your criteria for teaching and learning based on your discipline and your prefered teaching style?
I’m a psychologist (teach various psychology subjects using LMS – like WebCT and Moodle), and art therapist (various art therapy traditionally as a teacher, but as a student I have studied art therapy online) (like all the digital and art making videos), and as a dance/movement therapist (ADTR), I’m excited about more use of videos.

What practices do you employ?

I’m still developing my skills. Right now I have been attempting to get my webcam to work (it used to). I recently presented a Power Point on Art Therapies and Technology. Professionals in my areas are very excited about any “camera” work that can be distributed for learning purposes.

How do you experience the learning moment as teacher or student within the context of online learning?
I get excited. Most students are really positive to learning the content of the subjects I've been fortunate to teach and I challenge myself to keep learning more.

If you were a panellist in such a teleconference, what would you say?

I think that camera skills improve with practice and exposure – like dancing – practice, practice, practice. I think with practice I will be more comfortable with being on webcams and with making and distributing Youtube videos. As a panellist I might get rather self-conscious, but I would proceed anyway.

What is your experience of being in front of the camera?