Both a serious academic tool and a place to build up an online portfolio.

Both a serious academic tool and a place to build up an online portfolio.

by Timb Hoswell -
Number of replies: 17

I am a second year student in Mr Griffith’s class and I think that blogging, particularly the technology utilised by Livejournal can open up new possibilities in academic fields of research, study and inquiry. With my own experience in the liberal arts I’ve found it to be a powerful academic tool and would encourage anyone who intends to undertake serious academic study to open up and utilise one, not only for liaisoning and discussing ideas, but for putting across serious proposals, concepts and expressions within an informal setting and getting informal feedback. Also as a place to discuss ideas, learn from other people and perhaps put some of your own intuitions and discoveries across.

There is also the option of building up an online portfolio of work and ideas as several students have done with poetry, academic/ journalistic writing, and one particular student with his art works and paintings.

- Timb
In reply to Timb Hoswell

Re: Both a serious academic tool and a place to build up an online portfolio.

by Tamara Gardner -
I too am one of Michael's second year students, and just to prove how effective Livejournal is as a tool for communication, it was through LJ that I discovered the link for this site.

I think that LJ has been an awesome tool for creating a sense of community amoungst students and also to show case their work.

Being such an unrestricted environment students are free to roam and post as they please, opening up creative possibilities, and possibilities for any of their strengths in English, while also offering the opportunity to recieve feed back, both from their Lecturer and fellow students.