Hello from Vancouver

Hello from Vancouver

by Reynaldo Chang -
Number of replies: 7

Hi,

I am currently an instructor in post-secondary institutions in British Columbia. 

How do liberating structures impact on teaching and learning?

As I explored the contents of this course, I felt a little overwhelmed yet excited to explore the different principles, framework, pedagogy, methods, processes, and impact of liberating outcome on learning and teaching. As a course designer, developer and instructor, the process for continuous improvement seems limitless. 

I am looking forward to a productive week in this course.

In reply to Reynaldo Chang

Re: Hello from Vancouver

by Meg Walker -

Hi Reynaldo,

I am also feeling a little overwhelmed, but mostly in a good way, with all the thoughtful processes, pedagogies, frameworks and plain old interesting conversation that is already going on here! Thanks for being willing to name that feeling, I felt better reading your note.

Your statement here resonates, too:

As a course designer, developer and instructor, the process for continuous improvement seems limitless. 

★☆ Agreed ☆★. This is what I return to when I become worn out at the end of a semester - well said.

Meg

In reply to Meg Walker

by Reynaldo Chang -

Hi Meg,

I share your sentiment and would tend to view it as part of the learning curve. Since we deal with different sets of learners in our profession, it would be imperative for us at some point to step back, reflect, and also empathize with our learners as we continue honing our craft.

Part of our job in teaching and learning is to understand the different background, perspectives, and learning styles of our learners. That, in itself, applies to us now as participants of this MicroCourse. It's a fantastic opportunity for role-reversal in a positive, respective environment conducive for learning.