Menu vs framework approaches to LS

Menu vs framework approaches to LS

by Jane Maxwell -
Number of replies: 8

Hi everyone,

My name is Jane Maxwell and I'm a faculty development instructor at Yukon College (soon to be Yukon U).  I've dipped my toes into Liberating Structures in the past, mostly in the context of facilitating professional development opportunities for instructors, and I look forward to taking a deeper dive this week.  

What big question do you have about Liberating Structures as we begin our time together?

How can we approach LS as a framework rather than a menu?  Since my goals is to build capacity with instructors rather than designing a specific course/workshop, I worry that the menu of 33 structures will be overwhelming and may encourage superficial engagement with LS.  However, I still struggle myself to identify a clear framework of LS that can facilitate deeper and more meaningful engagement.

What do you hope to get from and give this group this week?

I hope to get and give critical and creative perspectives on Liberating Structures as a tool (or philosophy?) for fostering critical, creative and reflective approaches to teaching and learning!

In reply to Jane Maxwell

Re: Menu vs framework approaches to LS

by Bettina Boyle -

Hi Jane - nice to see you online again!

Our Liberating Structures practice group for faculty here at CapU has been a great way for faculty to engage through experience (participating or facilitating). So rather than introducing all 33+ structures, we've really framed it around testing and playing with 2-3 LS's during each meet-up, which I think has created some meaningful engagement - and opportunities to discuss application in the classrooms afterwards/as debrief. 

Bettina

In reply to Jane Maxwell

by Leva Lee -

Hi Jane,