Ryan's Acknowledgement

Ryan's Acknowledgement

by Ryan Banow -
Number of replies: 5

"As we gather here today, we acknowledge we are on Treaty 6 Territory and the Homeland of the Métis. We pay our respect to the First Nations and Métis ancestors of this place and reaffirm our relationship with one another. I come from a place of respect and gratitude to know I work, live, and learn in their traditional lands."

The first two sentences are the University of Saskatchewan's offical land acknowledgement "As we gather here today, we acknowledge we are on Treaty 6 Territory and the Homeland of the Métis. We pay our respect to the First Nations and Métis ancestors of this place and reaffirm our relationship with one another." I have been using this regularly for a few years, but have felt like I want to go further and make a connection between the acknowledgement and my work. Lately, I have been trying to connect how the specific workshop or class I am leading connections to Indigenization, Reconciliation, and/or Decolonization. I don't feel like I am achieving that overly well at the moment. 

In the draft above, I added "I come from a place of respect and gratitude to know I work, live, and learn in their traditional lands". I saw this within the module examples and appreciated its message. That represents what I hope to convey when making the acknowledgement. By the end of this week, I hope to be able to also add a clear statement about how much work connects in too.

In reply to Ryan Banow

Re: Ryan's Acknowledgement

by Ryan Banow -

Video version of it

In reply to Ryan Banow

by Derek Murray -

Hi Ryan,

I like that you added the personal element to the acknowledgement. I am curious about how this connects to specific workshops or classes. Do you have an example? For me, I find my acknowledgement is different when I teach a history course as opposed to leading a workshop for peer tutors.

Derek

In reply to Derek Murray

by Ryan Banow -

Hi Derek,