Donna's Acknowledgement

Donna's Acknowledgement

by Donna DesBiens -
Number of replies: 4

Just a draft, next time I'll try to eliminate glasses glare in the video!

In reply to Donna DesBiens

Re: Donna's Acknowledgement

by Jennifer Kirkey -

Thanks for sharing Donna.

I really liked how you were able to talk about when your ancestors came to Canada.  I will use that when I redo my own introduction.    

I found it useful when you shared the strengths and challenges of a multi-cultural upbringing.

The glare on your glasses was not that distracting.  As a physicist I was more intrigued than annoyed.  Do you have low glare glasses?  Do you think that just moving a lamp will help?  It is definitely something I will play closer attention to on my own videos.  

In reply to Jennifer Kirkey

by Donna DesBiens -

Hi Jennifer,

Thank you for both the feedback - both the appreciative and generative comments :-).  I'm glad you will be able to use some of the same approaches to sharing your own cultural background.   

I often change up my own acknowledgement cultural introduction depending on place and situational contexts, and also as I learn more about what protocols are important to the Indigenous people there and how to be in good relationship with self and others.  

I was concerned about the glare too, but couldn't get rid of it without removing my glasses... which I needed to look at my notes for my new changed up script!  I'm definitely going to get low glare glasses when I renew this summer. I had no lights on at all while recording. I think the glare was an interaction with my dual computer screens. 

In reply to Donna DesBiens

by Derek Murray -