A Rubric for Evaluating Feedback Quality

A Rubric for Evaluating Feedback Quality

by Tara Vanderveer -
Number of replies: 3

Hey guys, 

Being a bit greedy here by posting another, but I am struggling with a good rubric to evaluate the feedback students give each other.

I have a written assignment that they peer evaluate and then I evaluate them on the quality of feedback they provide. I have never done it before, but here is what I am working on...

Does anyone have a "Go-To" rubric for this type of assessment or comments for me on this one?

Thank you all for your generosity in feedback and conversation!!!

Tara

In reply to Tara Vanderveer

Re: A Rubric for Evaluating Feedback Quality

by Leonne Beebe -

Tara,

Your concept of evaluating the student's feedback  when giving peer feedback is intriguing. Will you give them a rubric to base their feedback on?  It's like reflecting on your reflections.

Just checking to make sure I understand your design. 

Your have four weighted criteria: relevance = 1, examples = 1, detail = 5, and overall impression = 3 for a total of 10 marks for each of the five student-assessed criteria.  Do you provide a score for each of the five student-assessed criteria?  For example, would you give each of the five student-assessed criteria a score of 1 or 0 for the relevance and examples criteria, from 0 to 5 for the detail criteria, and from 0 to 3 for the overall impression criteria? . If so, then you would end up with a possible total score of 5 for relevance, 5 for examples, 25 for details, and 15 for overall impression for a total of 50 marks. Then, all you have to do with your total mark is to convert  it to a %  by multiplying by 2. 

Or have I misread your rubric, and you only give one score of 3 at the end for overall impression criteria, which would result in total score of 5 + 5 + 25 +3 =  38, not so easy to convert to a %?

Out of confusion comes clarity.

Leonne

by Sue Hellman -

Hi Tara.