Making it work with large classes

Making it work with large classes

by Sylvia Currie -
Number of replies: 1
I attended this session because I have no experience whatsoever with large classes, other than what I experienced as a student (a long long time ago!) and all those lectures were far from interactive.

I gathered together some tips for engaging students in dialogue in a large lecture hall type setting. I would sure like to visit University of Regina one day to see Heather in action! Even in our small gathering I noticed how Heather was able to observe who was in the session and use that in her presentation, she spoke to individuals and everyone at once, I even felt her bring me back into the discussion with her eyes when I started fish around in my briefcase to check where I was going next! blush
  • Listen to the students! Get their feedback about the course, how they feel about the format, how it is different from other courses they have experienced. Heather played a tape from a focus group session in a bar with her students.
  • Don't be afraid of the numbers. It doesn't matter how big the class is. There will always be people who are confident enough to speak up and get things rolling.
  • Begin the course by encouraging students to form study groups. This will help the students who do not speak up in class.
  • Design the course sessions around "elements" rather than content/lectures. For example a vignette can anchor a discussion which draws out the core themes that students would otherwise learn about through a lecture. The difference is it comes from the students and not the instructor
  • Build rapport gradually. It takes time for students to understand and adjust to the interactive format.
  • Be very flexible. You never know what is going to happen.