Multimembership Welcome and Introductions

Multimembership Welcome and Introductions

by Sue Wolff -
Number of replies: 32

Hello and welcome to our seminar!

I am Sue Wolff, from Seattle, Washington. I am just beginning a new job in higher education specializing in curriculum and faculty development, but before that was consulting with nonprofit directors and educators on using technology to advance the mission of their organizations.

My entry point for this seminar was the Facilitating Online Communities course (FOC08) offered through Otago Polytechnic in New Zealand, facilitated by Leigh Blackhall. Multi-membership is a core facet of my professional life. I practically live online and belong to more networks, groups, lists, and social communities than I can even think of at one time. Immersing myself is the way I learn how people are struggling, surviving, innovating, learning, and growing with web-based resources.

I will be facilitating the discussion threads here as we collect stories and explore strategies for managing our memberships in so many online groups, networks and communities.

To begin:

• Listen and try to leave a comment on the Voice Thread. What helps you navigate and cope? We want details!
  • Reply to this discussion thread with a short intro. Tell us where you heard about this seminar and what drew you. If you are dropping by in the second week, include this information the first time you post, wherever that is.

Nov 1-8:

• We will post the survey responses and summaries of the stories and tips collected from the Voice Thread on the SCoPE wiki. I will try to summarize and link to them too.
  • Start a new thread anytime. What are we learning about the ways people cope with multimembership?
In reply to Sue Wolff

Re: Multimembership Welcome and Introductions

by Heather Webb -
Hi Sue and SCOPE community: