Classrooms as Communities?

Classrooms as Communities?

by Elizabeth Wallace -
Number of replies: 6

Nice to hear Etienne Wenger's work referenced in discussiong classroom practice. Marc has obviously spent a lot of time investigating the theories underpinning communities, and is now applying them in his own teaching. What strikes you about the concept of our classrooms as communities? 

In reply to Elizabeth Wallace

Re: Classrooms as Communities?

by Tamara Porteous -
I believe that indeed, our classrooms are a community but only after we have taken the effort to ensure that this happens.  I am an elementary school teacher and as such strive to create a community within my four walls each day.  I believe the more we encourage and allow our students to act like a community, the more productive our class days will be.  Community members work together for the better of the whole, which is what I try to do in my own classroom.  As a community of learners, set on a common goal, the students work together to ensure that everyone is included and that no one is left behind.  Looking at the classroom as a community within the school community goes a long way in creating a more cohesive group of learners.
In reply to Tamara Porteous

by Elizabeth Wallace -

How encouraging to read that you are building communities in your classrooms, Tamara. What a huge difference from when I was an elementary teacher in the last century! I so disliked the teacher directed, administration dictated model of teaching that was expected then that I put my teaching certificate in a drawer and swore I'd never teach again.