Critiques of learning analytics?

Re: Critiques of learning analytics?

by Dianne Rees -
Number of replies: 2
I come from a science background and I'm an ex-genetics researcher so I accept the idea of analytics being useful and important to decision making. However, there's a saying in genetics that you get what you screen for. In other words, your view of the world is limited by the initial question you set up and the actual outcomes you are measuring (e.g., does the fly die vs does the fly have disturbed cell signaling and die or does the fly die because it's food was prepared wrong and that may or may not be on your radar). The parameter you measure affects your ability to make conclusions and yet there's the seductive tendency, because numbers are attached, to treat conclusions as particularly authoritative. The study is then summarized to stand for those conclusions and people stop looking into the underlying assumptions and data because, well that takes time, and we may feel uncomfortable questioning people who have a reputation for knowing things. Plus everyone on Twitter is retweeting the numbers, so doesn't that make it so? :).

An issue I have with LAK, as currently implemented in higher education, is that it appears that instructors are letting the systems drive the questions (e.g., what the LMS is programmed to measure drives the questions being asked). The result is that the questions aren't particularly connected to important issues that get at the heart of why instruction is or isn't working. I do think (or hope) that most researchers realize you bring multiple tools to bear on problems, both quantitative and qualitative, and your qualitative tools can recast the way you assess the numbers. I disagree with the assessment of one of the articles that the "numbers speak for themselves" except as this can mean you sometimes can find answers (or at least suggestions) in numbers that you might not have been looking for.