Hello from Toronto/P2PU

Hello from Toronto/P2PU

by Stian Håklev -
Number of replies: 0

Picture of meHi all. I am very excited about this course, since it dovetails very nicely with both my own PhD studies, and my involvement/research interest in P2PU.

I'm a Norwegian international student, but I've already been in Toronto for six years, at the University of Toronto. I did my MA in Higher Education, on Open Educational Resources in China, which brings together two of my interests, languages and international collaboration/understanding, and OER/open learning (thesis). I am currently in the first year of my PhD in Curriculum, Teaching and Learning focusing on learning in open courses.

P2PU logoThe thing that takes up most of my time, is P2PU, or the Peer2Peer University. It's an online platform for collaborative open learning groups around open educational resources. Basically, the idea is that there is now so much resources available - whether MIT OpenCourseWare, Open Access journal articles, scanned public domain books, Wikipedia articles, blogs, newspapers etc - but self-learners who wish to use these materials still face a number of challenges.

1. Where to start, what materials are appropriate at my level, what is a good progression through the materials?

2. The need for a "co-hort" to learn with, both for the knowledge-sharting aspect, and the social aspect. Also mentors and others who can provide feedback on the learning.

3. Some form of assessment or feedback, and for some, formal accreditation or recognition of the learning.

So what P2PU provides is:

1. Volunteers put together course outlines which only link to material freely and legally available on the net (MIT OCW has free course outlines, but they ask you to buy this book, get this article that's only available through a university library). Courses are usually 6 weeks, but can be longer.