OLC Stories & Reflections

OLC Stories & Reflections

by Paul Beaufait -
Number of replies: 22
Narratives of online learner collaboration (OLC)

This collection of stories, reflections, ... clarifications, and elaborations starts here; just click Reply to start spinning a thread.

Cheers, Paul
In reply to Paul Beaufait

Re: OLC Stories & Reflections

by Bonnie Johnston -
Hi everybody,

This is my first time participating in Scope. I am happy to discover this community of practice of e-learning practitioners!

And hello Paul, it's good to see you again!

Regarding Online Collaborative Learning, my little story follows. To me it demonstrates how groups can function differently at different stages of the task, in this case, talking about the work versus working on the work itself.

I was in an online class last summer and we were to work in groups of 4 and produce a piece of media. We were a mixed group of high school teachers and adult educators with differing technical expertise - from almost zero to highly sophisticated. We also had a very strong personality in the group, who could be quite opinionated but also very, very funny.

In my mind, thinking about this project, I divide the group's work into two distinct periods: there was the first period where we discussed at length about the project, and the second period where we worked on the project itself.