Introductions

Introductions

by Nancy Riffer -
Number of replies: 25
It is our custom to begin each seminar with introductions. It helps us to know who is here. We ask even those who may not intend to say anything to initially let us know you are here.

I'll suggest a general question for starters: Why are you participating in this seminar?

Feel free to add questions and answer as you like.

P.S. I am a seminar participant and am taking a little initiative.
In reply to Nancy Riffer

Re: Introductions

by Nancy Riffer -
I'm a former faculty member at a liberal arts college in upstate New York. I assisted in teaching the online part of a blended graduate course some years ago. I'm mostly self-taught in using Web 2.0 tools (with the help of my young adult children).

I'm in this seminar because I'm very interested in the variety of activities that faculty can use to make their classes more interesting, relevant, and learner-centered. I'm particularly interested in finding specific examples of the application of the suggestions in R2D2 in liberal arts college classrooms.

I've worked in the area of organizational change for a number of years. Part of my personal learning beyond this seminar is wanting to understand the leverage points in academe that would make the needed changes more attainable.

I'm also a voracious learner and will be learning from the perspectives of all of you.
In reply to Nancy Riffer

by Christine Horgan -

Hello:

To respond to Nancy's question:

"Why are you participating in this seminar?"

I'm participating because...

-I'd like to understand a lot more about on-line learning from "experts"

-I'd like to explore on-line learning "issues" from three viewpoints: learner, facilitator, instructional designer.

-I have an opportunity to take care of my professional development needs.

Who am I? I am the Curriculum Co-ordinator in a large service department in a Canadian technical college (SAIT Polytechnic, Calgary, Alberta).