Introductions

Introductions

by Dan McGuire -
Number of replies: 23

Hello everyone,

I am going to begin this seminar with some simple questions - who are you and what do you own?

Myself - I have been working with copyright issues for close to fifteen years, helping educators bring relevant content into their classrooms - legally. Over this time I've yearned for a simple answer to the dilemas facing copyright owners and copyright consumers, as I've grown older, and hopefully wiser I've realized that every case is truly unique, with many differing yet valid answers - depending on how you approach the issue.

As far as my ownership - I own a house (excepting the part that still belongs to my bank), I own two cars, a computer and some really cool radio control airplanes! I also own the copyright on some musical compositions and a wide range of writting  - now if only I could find a buyer!

This seminar will be a discussion of Intellectual Property, as it exists in todays economy. I am very much hoping that this will be an inclusive discussion, and as such I am asking you to introduce yourselves - and what you believe you own!

In Anticipation,

Dan

In reply to Dan McGuire

Re: Introductions

by Sylvia Riessner -
Hi Dan,

This seminar is so timely I can't believe it...we just tripped over a digital copyright issue that we've been sidestepping and avoiding for a while. Our librarian, a very tech-savvy lady, just brought me a book called Canadian Copyright: A Citizen's Guide and she promises me it will enlighten me and NOT put me to sleep. I'm hoping your discussion will enlighten me even more.